The Australian Open, a major tennis tournament, takes place annually at Melbourne Park in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. As the first of the four Grand Slam tennis events that occur each year, it precedes the French Open, Wimbledon, and the US Open.

The tournament begins in mid-January and lasts for two weeks, coinciding with the Australia Day holiday. The Australian Open features competitions for men’s and women’s singles, men’s, women’s, and mixed doubles, junior championships, as well as wheelchair, legends, and exhibition events.

Until 1988, the tournament was played on grass courts. However, since then, two types of hardcourt surfaces have been utilized: green-colored Rebound Ace until 2007 and blue Plexicushion since 2008.

Other popular festivals

Vivid Sydney
Sculpture by the sea
Floriade Canberra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *